Skip to main content

Board Of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of five members as follows:

  • The Governor or Governor’s designee
  • The Commissioner of Insurance or The Commissioner of Insurance’s designee
  • Two active members of the fund appointed by the Governor
  • One retired beneficiary of the fund appointed by the Governor

One of the active members of the fund and the retired beneficiary of the fund both appointed by the Governor are appointed for an initial term of two years. The other active member of the fund appointed by the Governor serves an initial term of four years. Thereafter, successors shall be appointed by the Governor to take office upon the expiration of the respective terms of office for terms of four years. In the event of a vacancy during the term of office of any such member, the Governor shall appoint a qualified person to fill such vacancy for the unexpired term.

The Georgia State Firefighters’ Association shall be authorized to submit to the Governor the names of nominees for each position on the board appointed by the Governor pursuant to subsection (b) of this Code section. The Governor, in making such appointments, may consider the nominees submitted by said association, but all such appointments shall be at the sole discretion of the Governor, and the Governor shall not be required to appoint members of the board from such nominees.

Members of the Board shall serve without pay but all members of the board shall be reimbursed for all necessary expenses that they may incur through service on the board.

The Board has final authority for the engagement and retention of service providers to the Fund.

You can view our Bylaws here (PDF).

Skip to content